MoviePass has come under further scrutiny after being accused of re-subscribing cancelled customers accounts without their consent.

Vox reported that a number of former users said they ended their subscriptions weeks ago, but then received a confirmation email Monday thanking them for re-enrolling in MoviePass’ latest plan.

The customers allegedly attempted to unsubscribe once again, but were apparently met with an error message that wouldn’t allow them to cancel.

Earlier this week, the firm revealed it would now only allow cinema fans a choice of two films in a bid to stay afloat. Last week it brought in a restriction of three movies per month, but that has now dropped to two for those theatres that do not offer advance e-ticketing options. The movie choice will change from day to day, the company noted.

After announcing its cut-back in available movie options, MoviePass reportedly began posting an in-app message that announced the changes.

At the bottom of the message, users were given two options: a “More Details” link and “I Accept.” However, some users that had cancelled selected the latter thinking it would not affect them, though selecting “I Accept” nullified the user’s cancelation.

The MoviePass confirmation email mentioned this at the bottom: “If you had previously requested cancellation prior to opting-in, your opt-in to the new plan will take priority and your account will not be cancelled.”

In a statement addressing the re-subscription issues, MoviePass said: “All cancellation requests are being correctly processed and no members were being blocked from cancelling their accounts. We apologise for the inconvenience and ask that any impacted members contact customer support via the MoviePass app.”

Image: MoviePass